Vacancy: Consultant on Financial Sustainability

Terms of Reference (TOR) – Kyrgyzstan
“Strengthening Human Rights in Kyrgyzstan”

Summary

Freedom House seeks a consultant with experience in CSOs’ financial sustainability development. The consultant will provide consultations aimed at strengthening financial management capacity of Freedom House grantees – non-profit organizations- within Strengthening Human Rights in Kyrgyzstan USAID-funded program. The key consultation purpose is to improve grantees’ organizational capacities with the goal of enabling them to receive funding directly from USAID, and thus improving their overall sustainability, by the end of the grant.


Freedom House Overview

For over 70 years, Freedom House has been dedicated to the expansion of freedom around the world through its unique combination of analysis, advocacy, and action. The organization’s mission is founded upon the principle that freedom is possible only in democratic political systems where governments are accountable to their own people; the rule of law prevails; and freedoms of expression, association, and belief, as well as respect for the rights of minorities and women are guaranteed.

Representation of the Freedom House in Kyrgyzstan has been operating since 2002, strengthening the capacity of local civil society groups in part to take immediate action in case of violation of human rights by providing lawyers with the skills to protect the right to freedom of assembly, and local community groups providing tools to combat gender-based violence and bride kidnapping.


Project Background

Freedom House is managing Strengthening Human Rights in Kyrgyzstan three-year program (running from September 2013 to September 2016) funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). Freedom House provides 3 organizations with institutional grants that support the twin purposes of strengthening the capacity of key organizations and supporting monitoring and advocacy in Kyrgyzstan to strengthen observance of human rights.
In particular, Freedom House seeks a consultant for conducting consultations for core partners. Freedom House aims to improve core partners’ financial management capacities. Consultation will be based on the organizational diagnostic recommendations which core partners have already passed.

Scope of Work

The consultant together with Organizational Development Specialist (ODS) of Freedom House in Kyrgyzstan will develop internal financial policies and procedures and provide consultation to Freedom House 3 core partners. Two consultations will be conducted in Bishkek and one consultation will be conducted in Osh. The trainer will report to ODS.

The deliverables for this consultancy will include:
• Strategy of financial sustainability;
• Internal policy on paid services;
• Procurement policy;
• Designing of annual organizational budget;
• Report on the provided service.

Length of Service

Active work period begins on the date when the last of the two sides signed the contract and the end of the service no later than 30 August 2016.

Application Guidelines

This position is open to local and international applicants. The selected consultant should have demonstrated expertise in capacity building in financial sustainability. In particular, at development of above mentioned internal policy and procedures of CSOs.

Additional information about desired qualifications is listed below:

• Russian language fluency is mandatory, including ability to speak and develop consultation agenda in Russian language
• Minimum 3 years of experience designing internal policies and conducting trainings, preferably in the field of organizational development.
• Strong facilitation, presentation, and communication skills

Interested applicants should provide a current CV and a two-page cover letter. Online or hard-copy examples of past successful consultation material\manuals developed by applicant is encouraged.

Please also provide an abridged budget detailing anticipated daily rate for the consultation(s). Also include a short cost justification – detailing your salary history and/or daily rate for your last 3 consultations– and the names and contact information for 2 recent references.

Budget Guidelines

Freedom House will cover all costs relevant to conducting the consultation, including the days required, daily rate(s). Please note that payment in full will not be made until all project deliverables have been received and verified as meeting Freedom House’s expectations. Bids will be evaluated on a competitive basis, and cost efficiency will be a consideration in the review process.

Contact Information

Interested applicants must provide all materials outlined below to joldosheva@freedomhouse.org with the contact information provided at the end of this document by 17:00 of Bishkek time on Monday, July 26, 2016. Candidates selected for an interview will be notified by Tuesday, July 27 and a final decision will be made by July 28.
Only candidates selected for further consideration will be contacted.

Point of contact:

Elmira Joldosheva
joldosheva@freedomhouse.org

Вакансия: Консультант по вопросам финансовой устойчивости

Техническое задание (ТЗ) – Кыргызстан
«Усиление защиты прав человека в Кыргызстане»


Краткая информация

В «Фридом Хаус» требуется консультант с опытом работы в сфере развития финансовой устойчивости ОГО. Консультант будет предоставлять консультации по укреплению потенциала в сфере финансового управления для грантополучателей «Фридом Хаус» – некоммерческих организаций в рамках программы по «Усилению защиты прав человека в Кыргызстане», финансируемой USAID. Главной задачей в оказании консультационных услуг является улучшение организационного потенциала грантополучателей с целью предоставления им возможности получать финансирование непосредственно от USAID, и, таким образом, повышения их общей устойчивости к концу гранта.

Обзор деятельности Фридом Хаус»

На протяжении более 70 лет, «Фридом Хаус» продвигает свободу по всему миру, осуществляя свою деятельность через исследования, защиту прав человека и принятия соответствующих действий. Миссия организации основана на принципе того, что свобода возможна только в политических системах, построенных на демократии, где правительство несет ответственность перед своим народом; где преобладает верховенство закона; и где гарантированы свободы слова, ассоциаций и убеждений, а также соблюдаются права меньшинств и женщин.

Представительство «Фридом Хаус» действует в Кыргызстане с 2002 года, укрепляя потенциал групп местного гражданского общества, в частности, в отношении принятия срочных мер в случаях нарушения прав человека, предоставляя адвокатов с опытом работы в сфере защиты права на свободу собраний, и групп местных сообществ, обеспечивая их средствами для борьбы с гендерным насилием и похищением невест.


Общая информация о проекте

«Фридом Хаус» руководит трехлетней программой по «Усилению защиты прав человека в Кыргызстане» (реализуемой с сентября 2013 г. по сентябрь 2016 г.), финансируемой Агентством США по международному развитию (USAID). «Фридом Хаус» предоставляет институциональные гранты 3 организациям, оказывая поддержку в двух смежных направлениях — в укреплении потенциала ключевых организаций, и оказании поддержки по мониторингу и защите прав в Кыргызстане с целью укрепления практики соблюдения прав человека.

В связи с этим, в «Фридом Хаус» требуется консультант для оказания консультационных услуг ключевым партнерам. «Фридом Хаус» стремится повысить потенциал своих ключевых партнеров в сфере финансового управления. Консультации будут основываться на организационных диагностических рекомендациях, ранее принятых основными партнерами.


Объем работ

Консультант совместно со Специалистом по организационному развитию (СОР) «Фридом Хаус» в Кыргызстане, будет разрабатывать внутреннюю финансовую политику и процедуры, а также будет и предоставлять консультации для 3 основных партнеров «Фридом Хаус». Две консультации будут проведены в г. Бишкек и одна консультация — в г. Ош. Тренер будет подотчетен СОР.

Консультационные услуги будут предоставлены по следующим направлениям:

• Стратегия финансовой устойчивости;
• Внутренняя политика в отношении платных услуг;
• Политика закупок;
• Разработка годового бюджета организации;
• Отчет о предоставленных услугах.

Период оказания услуг

Рабочий период начинается с даты подписания контракта последней из двух сторон и заканчивается не позднее 30 августа 2016 г.

Условия подачи заявки

Данная позиция открыта для местных и международных соискателей. Выбранный консультант должен продемонстрировать знания в области наращивания потенциала по финансовой устойчивости, в частности, в разработке вышеуказанной внутренней политики и процедур ОГО.

Дополнительная информация о требованиях к квалификации приведена ниже:

• Отличное знание русского языка обязательно, в том числе необходимы навыки устного общения и разработки программы консультаций на русском языке
• Минимум 3 года опыта работы по разработке внутренней политики и проведению тренингов, предпочтительно в области организационного развития.
• Отличные организационные и коммуникативные навыки, а также умение проводить презентации

Заинтересованные кандидаты должны предоставить актуальное резюме и сопроводительное письмо на двух страницах. Приветствуются онлайн или печатные примеры предыдущих успешных консультационных материалов\руководств, разработанных соискателем.

Просьба также представить сокращенный бюджет с описанием ожидаемой дневной ставки за консультацию(и). Также необходимо включить краткое обоснование затрат – с историей вашей заработной платы и/или дневной ставкой за последние 3 консультации – а также имена и контактную информацию по последним двум рекомендателям.


Принципы оплаты

«Фридом Хаус» покроет все расходы, связанные с проведением консультаций, в том числе необходимое количество дней, суточные. Пожалуйста, обратите внимание, что оплата будет произведена полностью после выполнения и утверждения всего объема работ на их соответствие ожиданиям «Фридом Хаус». Заявки будут оцениваться на конкурсной основе, и будет учитываться эффективность затрат.


Контактная информация

Заинтересованные кандидаты должны предоставить все материалы, указанные ниже, по электронному адресу joldosheva@freedomhouse.org с указанием контактной информации в конце документа до 17:00 по Бишкекскому времени в понедельник, 26 июля 2016 г. Кандидаты, отобранные для интервью, будут оповещены ко вторнику, 27 июля, а окончательное решение будет принято 28 июля.

Только кандидаты, отобранные для дальнейшего рассмотрения, будут оповещены.

Контактное лицо:

Эльмира Жолдошева

joldosheva@freedomhouse.org