Freedom House statement about the attack in honor of the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia

Following the attack on an event commemorating the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia (IDAHOT) in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, Freedom House issued the following statement:

“Freedom House condemns all acts of violence against peaceful civic gatherings, and calls on the Kyrgyz authorities to swiftly and fairly investigate this attack and bring the perpetrators to justice,” said Mark P. Lagon, president of Freedom House.
“It is disturbingly ironic that this attack targeted an event aimed at drawing attention to violence and discrimination of LGBTI people, and underscores the urgent need for governments, civil society, religious communities, and others to aggressively combat discrimination and foster tolerance in Kyrgyzstan and elsewhere.”
This press release is made possible by the support of the American people through the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The contents are the sole responsibility of Freedom House and do not necessarily reflect the views of USAID or the United States Government.

Заявление Фридом Хаус о нападении  в честь Международного дня борьбы с гомофобией и трансфобией

После нападения на мероприятие в честь Международного дня борьбы с гомофобией и трансфобией в Бишкеке, Кыргызстан, Фридом Хаус публикует следующее заявление:

«Фридом Хаус осуждает все акты насилия в отношении мирных гражданских собраний, и призывает власти Кыргызстана быстро и справедливо расследовать это нападение и привлечь виновных к ответственности», — сказал Марк П. Лагон, президент Фридом Хаус.
«Это тревожный фактор нападения, направленный на привлечение внимания к насилию и дискриминации ЛГБТ, подчеркивает срочную необходимость для правительства, гражданского общества, религиозных общин, и других, решительно призывать к борьбе с дискриминацией и к содействию толерантности в Кыргызстане и других странах».
Этот пресс-релиз опубликован при поддержке американского народа через Агентство США по международному развитию (USAID). Ответственность за содержание настоящего документа полностью несет «Фридом Хаус». Документ не обязательно отражает взгляды USAID.